7 Top Gluten-Free Alternatives to Beer

7 Top Gluten-Free Alternatives to Beer

There are many reasons to decide to cut gluten out of your diet. Whether you have a gluten allergy, celiac disease, or it simply causes you to bloat every time you consume it. Unfortunately, you can't always enjoy a cold one with your friends because beer contains gluten ingredients like wheat, barley, and malt.

The good news is - just because you want to remove gluten from your lifestyle doesn't mean you have to give up drinking with your friends on the weekend. 

We're here to walk you through seven gluten-free alternatives to beer so you can find a drink to enjoy on weekdays and weekends. 

Let's take a closer look: 

1. Honeybrew

Honeybrew is a tea-based gluten-free alcohol made with a special combination of authentic jun culture, beneficial bacteria, and yeast. It's known for its semi-sweet and effervescent taste and its ability to provide a euphoric feeling with every sip. 

The calorie content is comparable to a standard BudLight and features a relatively low sugar content thanks to honey. Honeybrew is also lighter on the stomach than your average beer, so you don't need to worry about bloating, constipation, or hangovers in the morning. 

What sets Honeybrew apart from the rest is the ingredients. This gluten-free alcohol contains two main probiotics lactobacillus plantarum and lactobacillus paracasei. There have been countless research studies done on both of these probiotics to show the benefit they have for the individual. 

2. Seltzers

In recent years, hard seltzers have grown popular for being a go-to gluten-free beer alternative. It's marketed as the "healthier" alternative to beer and features low carbs, sugars, and calories. Most of the popular hard seltzer available at your local liquor store market themselves as a 100-calorie option and only have one carb per serving. 

However, even though the nutritional information looks better on paper when compared to beer, that doesn't mean it's the "healthier" option. Seltzers don't have any nutritional value, antioxidants, or good-for-you ingredients. They are made with water, fermented sugar cane, and fruit. 

Seltzers also don’t have the most distinct flavor profile, and the heavy carbonation can lead to stomach bloating, gas, and constipation. So if you're someone that drinks to savor the flavor, seltzers probably aren't the right option for you. But they may be a good alternative the next time you're at a party and no other gluten-free options are available.

3. Mead 

Mead has been around since ancient times. It’s known for its distinct and bold flavor profile and somewhat high alcohol content. While it’s a great gluten-free alternative to beer, it's notably different and many ways. The flavor is unlike beer, wine, or even cider. It's fermented and made with yeast, water, and honey, but most flavors are dry or somewhat sweet. 

Mead can also have an ABV of nearly 20% - which can sneak up on you if you aren't careful. If you're considering switching to mead as your gluten-free alcohol choice, invest in high-quality options and do your research. Cheap mead can lead to nasty hangovers if you drink too many. 

4. Gluten-Reduced or Gluten-Free Beer 

Yes, they make that! Gluten-reduced or gluten-free beer has recently grown in popularity. While more people start to avoid incorporating gluten in their diet, microbreweries and breweries are coming to the table with a gluten-free or reduced option their customers can still enjoy. 

It’s a great option for individuals with a gluten allergy or who love the taste of beer but not gluten. Gluten-free beers have less sugar and lower carbs than an average beer, but that doesn't make it a "healthier" option or a better option for you.

When looking for a gluten-free beer to taste or test the waters with you'll want to avoid malted barley and look for ingredients like rice, buckwheat, and millet. 

5. Wine 

Wine is arguably one of the most popular gluten-free alcoholic drinks. It’s known for its fruity aroma, pleasant flavors, and distinct taste. However, it might not be the best choice if you’re looking for a gluten-free alternative to beer to drink by the pool or at the bar with your friends. Wine has a somewhat high alcohol content and can lead to a quicker head change than your average beer. 

6. Hard Kombucha 

Hard kombucha has recently grown in popularity as a gluten-free beer alternative. This beverage is fermented with sugar, tea, culture, and water. It has a somewhat acidic and tart taste, similar to sparkling cider or tea. The alcohol content typically sits around 3.5-5.5%, comparable to your favorite brews. While kombucha contains cultures and gut-friendly bacteria, there's little to no research done on the specific probiotics found in kombucha and hard kombucha.

So even though it's a healthier alternative to other gluten-free alcohol options - take it with a grain of salt. 

7. Hard Cider 

Looking for a fruity or dry beverage to enjoy on the weekends? Try a hard cider! Hard cider is made with apples and is known for its fruit taste profile. Boozy ciders have fewer carbs than the average beer but the sugar content is higher than other gluten-free alcohol.  

We'll warn you now: this gluten-free alternative to beer can really sneak up on you. Since fruity flavor mixed with high sugar content can lead to a killer headache in the morning. 

They are known to be slightly more alcoholic than the average beer. Most ciders are around 5.5% to 6%, while beer sits around 4.5% - just something to be mindful of if you plan to have more than one in one sitting. You can have a few guilt-free sips if you're committed to a low-carb diet, but try to only drink a few in one sitting. 

Get Your Buzz On

Ready to experience the crisp and clean taste of an ice-cold Honeybrew? You've come to the right place. Our formula is jam-packed with superfoods and herbs you can feel good about incorporating into your lifestyle. No more worrying about a bloated belly while you're having a good time with your friends. 

This is a healthier alcoholic beverage, unlike anything you've tasted or experienced. 

Explore our selection today to see what the buzz is all about. 

Gluten-Free Alcoholic Alternative FAQs 

What alcoholic beverages are gluten-free?

Most popular liquors, including brandy, vodka, tequila, and rum, are naturally gluten-free - so you can make a mixed drink on the weekend with peace of mind. However, let's be honest - we don't always want to have a liquor-filled drink on the weekdays or at a company-wide happy hour. 

Thankfully, there are many gluten-free alternatives to beer you can switch to if you still want to enjoy a good brew. 

Is Honeybrew gluten-free?

Yes! The addition of wheat, rye, or barley is what adds gluten to your favorite beers. These ingredients can be dangerous for individuals with gluten allergies and can cause stomach issues if you consume too many. Our Honeybrew is made with authentic jun culture, beneficial bacteria, and yeast - so you don't need to worry about the presence of gluten getting in the way of your good time.